Tuesday, August 14, 2012

PDPSZA 2011: Zero to Hero

The Heroins (Shiyamala-Best Speaker Finals,
 Lavanya-Best Speaker Overalls, 
Martina-The Prime Minister) make us all so proud

UMK English Debate Team (Our First Year Debating)
The UMK English Debate team also known as “UMK Desperate Debaters” has achieved their most remarkable achievement in the period of one year as a club. UMK team 2 was announced the champion of the 11th Sultan Zainal Abidin’s Debate Cup tournament at UiTM Dungun on the 12th of June 2011 against International Islamic University of Malaysia (IIUM) team 1 with a 5-2 split. Two teams represented our university; UMK 1 represented by Veronica Lok Li Wen (SBS2), Muhammad Firdaus Abd. Karim (SBN2) and Hemashangari (SBT2) and UMK 2 represented by Martina Irwan Khoo (SBH2), Lavanya Malini (SBT1) and Shiyamala Devi (SBN1). Both teams managed to break into the quarter finals but UMK1 lost to UiTM Dungun 1 with a 2-1 split. However, UMK2 (Government) took UiTM Dungun 1 down during semifinals with a 4-1 split on the motion “THW celebrate the death of Osama bin Laden”. On the motion “THBT the private lives of politicians should be the concern of the public” UMK2 as the government won the debate and Lavanya Malini was awarded Overall Best Speaker

No comments:

Post a Comment